Report and Block any user on WhatsApp: WhatsApp is a popular instant messaging app that connects you with people from all over the world. But some users can also misuse this app to spam others. Whether it is a group or a private chat on WhatsApp, no one likes those spam messages. The meta-owned app lets you block any such user. This will prevent you from receiving any more messages from that contact and will help you get rid of these spam messages.
If you keep getting messages from users or unknown numbers you don’t want to connect to, WhatsApp also allows you to report them. When you use the Report and Block feature, the company alerts you to the messages you receive and takes action accordingly. If the number is reported multiple times, WhatsApp may block the user from using the app. If you’re getting some bad messages from a known or unknown user, here’s how you can block and report them:
Report and block a user
- Open WhatsApp on your Android device.
- Open the chat of the user you want to report.
- Tap on the three-dot menu available in the upper right corner of the chat.
- Select More options.
- Tap on Reports option.
- Check the box to block the user and delete the chat messages, and then press the report button.
Report and block unknown users
- Open WhatsApp chat of unknown user.
- You’ll see three options in the chat: Report, Block, and Add to Contacts.
- When you tap on Report, you will see a pop-up notification asking you to block and delete the chat along with the report. Press the report button after checking the box for Block and remove chat.
- When you tap on Block, you will get a pop-up notification asking if you want to block the user as well as report him or not. Check the box and then press the Block button.
What happens after you report and block someone on WhatsApp?
The company receives the last five messages sent to you by the reported user or group and prevents the user from sending you messages when you report and block someone on WhatsApp. The reported user does not get notified of this. The user who has been blocked and reported will not be able to see your profile picture, status or any other data.
WhatsApp is also notified of the reported group or user ID, the time the message was sent to you, as well as the type of message (e.g. text, image, video, etc.). If the activity of an account is banned under the WhatsApp Terms of Service, it may be banned.