HomeTechSamsung Maintenance mode: What is it and how can it help Galaxy...

Samsung Maintenance mode: What is it and how can it help Galaxy device owners

Samsung has started rolling out the One UI 5.0 update with several new features for Galaxy smartphones. The South Korean tech giant has updated its official blog to introduce a new security feature called the Maintenance mode that arrives with the Android 13 update. This new feature was first spotted in the beta version of One UI 5.0 when it was being tested on Galaxy S22 series smartphones. Apart from the flagship phones, the Maintenance mode will also arrive on other Galaxy smartphones that are eligible for the Android 13 update.
What is Maintenance mode
Samsung lets users to create multiple user accounts on some devices (like tablets). The new Maintenance mode will enable users to create separate accounts on their smartphones to protect data. This can come especially handy if one has to share a device with someone else. Moreover, this mode also keeps users’ data safe when smartphones are sent for repairs.
How does Samsung Maintenance mode work
This mode enables users to create a separate account on devices running Android 13. These guest accounts offer access to some of the basic functionalities of the device like pre-installed apps. It also keeps videos, photos and other sensitive data of the primary user safe.

The company’s latest feature for Galaxy devices blocks guest users from accessing Samsung apps that are downloaded from the Galaxy Store and other third-party apps. Additionally, any data or accounts created in Maintenance mode are automatically deleted once the feature has been disabled.
Galaxy Maintenance mode: How to enable or disable
Once the eligible Galaxy devices get updated with Android 13, the new feature will start appearing in the Battery and device care section of the Settings menu. To enable the feature, users have to switch the Turn on toggle to restart the phone in Maintenance mode.
After the restart, the device will automatically create a system log that will help the company’s repair staff to diagnose issues. Users can also choose not to create a log depending on their preference.

Once enabled, users can disable the Maintenance mode directly from the notification panel. Users have to click the notification appearing for the mode to restart their phones and continue with normal operation.
Moreover, users also need to provide authentication via fingerprint or other biometrics to exit Maintenance mode. This security measure prevents pryers from accessing your sensitive data even after restarting the device.

Source link

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Spiritual Temple